Kamloops council to hand out Exemplary Service Awards

Seven residents to be honoured, while two more to receive Freedom of the City awards

Kamloops council will be honouring seven citizens with the City of Kamloops Exemplary Service Award during a Wednesday night ceremony.

The award formally acknowledges individuals who have dedicated their time and service in an effort to make a difference in our community.

article continues below

The recipients are:

• Tyson Andrykew (under 29 category): Andrykew is executive general manager of the Signature Sandman Hotel. He has volunteered in the community for more than 10 years.

A founding member of BrewLoops, Andrykew has helped develop it into a flagship event with positive impacts on the local economy and craft beer scene.

Andrykew is also a Rotarian and sits on the boards of the Kamloops Chamber of Commerce, Kamloops Accommodation Association and Tourism Kamloops. As food and beverage director for the Kamloops 2018 BC Winter Games, Andrykew was instrumental in co-ordinating 25,000 meals over four days for the athletes.  

 • Penny Douglas: Douglas has been making an impact in Kamloops for more than four decades throughout her career as a physiotherapist.

Her extensive involvement as a volunteer spans the sporting community and local service clubs. For 17 years, Douglas held various roles with the Tod Mountain Ski Racing Club/Sun Peaks Alpine Club and she also volunteered at the 1979 BC Winter Games and 1993 Canada Summer Games.

Since 2003, Douglas has been a member of the Kamloops and District Elizabeth Fry Society, which is part of her passionate support for marginalized groups. At Elizabeth Fry, Douglas has held posts as secretary and president and she sits on numerous committees.

 • Lisa Fuller: Fuller is a dedicated volunteer and is active on multiple boards and committees.

She participates in Rotary functions and is involved with several professional associations in her career in human resources.

Through Kamloops Daybreak Rotary, Fuller volunteers on the organizing committee for Ribfest, which is a flagship community event.

Another of Fuller’s passions is working with the Kamloops and District SPCA, where she has taken a leadership role in its campaign to construct a new community animal centre, which opened last weekend.

Fuller has been on the boards of the Kamloops Art Gallery and Big Brothers and Big Sisters and sits on the United Way Women’s Leadership Council.

• Cheryl Kabloona: Kabloona is best known for her efforts in the area of energy, sustainability and climate, as she brings her skills as a certified Project management professional to her volunteer roles.

Kabloona joined the Kamloops Chapter of the BC Sustainable Energy Association in 2006 and has chaired the group since 2010.

She participated in important community-wide processes over the years, providing input into the Sustainable Kamloops Plan, the Official Community Plan, the Transit Future Plan, the Kamloops Bicycle and Pedestrian Master plans, the Airshed Plan and the Corporate Energy Plan.

Kabloona has also advanced her contributions at the provincial level, serving as treasurer of the BC Sustainable Energy Association for several years.

 • Lisa Lake: Lake has lived and volunteered in Kamloops for more than 20 years and supports many organizations.

She has been involved in many fundraising and mentorship campaigns at TRU, where she has worked since 1998.

Lake is extensively involved with Developing World Connections (DWC), where she has contributed to overseas projects in Cambodia, Guatemala and Nepal. She also serves on the board of DWC.

Lake is president of the Kamloops Daybreak Rotary Club and dedicates time to help out at many local Rotary events.

She is also on the board of the Kamloops Food Bank and has been involved with the United Way, the RIH Foundation, Marjorie Willoughby Snowden Memorial Hospice Home, Boogie the Bridge and the Kamloops YMCA-YWCA.

 • Kirstin McLaughlin: McLaughlin’s impact on the Kamloops community is unique.

As an advocate for the LGBTQ2S+ community, McLaughlin became the first Kamloops Pride president in 2016, a position she held for two years, during which she led the organization through the first and second annual downtown Pride parades.

During the Kamloops 2018 BC Winter Games, she served as that organization’s first inclusivity chair, developing protocol, procedures and language that welcomed all Games participants.

McLaughlin, a nurse by trade, was the lead nurse for Canada’s first Naloxone Take Home (THN) Program, which was developed in 2012 in response to the opioid crisis. There are now almost 1,500 THN sites in BC.

 • Andrew Yarmie: Yarmie is a retired history professor and a strong proponent for all things heritage.

He has been committed to enhancing the community as a volunteer and heritage advocate for more than 40 years.

For 22 of those years, he has been involved with the Kamloops Heritage Commission and has been its chair since 2011.

Yarmie was instrumental in the Heritage Recognition Plaque Initiative, which has recognized in excess of 100 properties, as well as individuals and businesses that promote heritage.

Yarmie has also been a director of the Kamloops Museum Association, been involved with Kamloops History projects and worked in partnership with Communities in Bloom and the Downtown and North Shore Business Improvements Associations on cultural heritage tours.

In addition to the Exemplary Service Awards, the city on Wednesday night will honour the 2019 Freedom of the City recipients — longtime broadcaster Doug Collins and venerable civic politician Patricia Wallace.

© Kamloops This Week


KTW Daily News Alerts

Question of the Week POLL

Would you be opposed if a cannabis production facility was set up near your home?

or  view results

Popular Kamloops This Week

Events Calendar