Skip to content

Kamloops MP Caputo on Russian blacklist

Conservative MP Frank Caputo, along with the other 337 MPs in Canada, is now barred from visiting Russia as that country responds to Western sanctions

Add Kamloops’ MP to the growing list of Canadians now barred from entering Russian.

Conservative MP Frank Caputo, who represents Kamloops-Thompson-Cariboo, is among 313 people added on March 15 to what the Russian foreign ministry calls its “black list.”

The list of people who cannot visit Russia includes all Canadian MPs, including all political party leaders, and is in response to Canada’s decision to implement sanctions against Russia, President Vladimir Putin and various business people from the country.

The sanctions by Canada and other Western counties are in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 24.

In a tweet, Caputo said: “Proud to say I have been officially sanctioned by Putin! A true badge of honour for all who stand in defence of freedom and democracy.”

Caputo is No. 116 on the list of 313 released by the Russian foreign ministry.

On the same day Russia added to its blacklist, the Canadian Parliament was addressed via videolink by Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelensky, who asked for more help — including the establishment of a no-fly zone over Ukraine — as Russian forces do more damage and kill more people in his country.

“Imagine that Canadian facilities have been bombed similarly as our buildings and memorial places are being bombed," Zelensky told the packed House of Commons. "A number of families have died. Every night is a horrible night."

Zelensky’s speech was greeted by standing ovations from the MPs in attendance.