Board chair defends IHA executive pay

The combined compensation paid to the senior executive team at the Interior Health Authority (IHA) topped $2 million in its last fiscal year.

Calling health care "one of the most complex industries that I know of," IHA board chair Erwin Malzer said given the authority is an enterprise valued at more than $2 billion, the compensation packages are appropriate for the executive.

article continues below

They are also consistent with provincial government guidelines, Malzer said.

"When you look across Canada, they compare quite favourably, and, when you look at North America or globally, it's substantially less."

Top of the list is Robert Halfpenny, who resigned as chief executive officer last Oct. 25. His base salary was one of the lowest at $195,615 but with additional payments that include bonuses (35,100), pension payments (19,492), earned vacation payout ($73,819), a retiring allowance ($71,531) and a salary holdback payment ($19,980), among other compensation, the package totalled $420,854.

Jeremy Etherington, IHA vice-president medicine and quality, had the highest base salary at $291,915 and with other compensation added on, his total for the 2015 fiscal year that ended March 31 was $337,096. He resigned on March 15 and was not replaced until April.

Wendy Hansson, vice-president community integration, had a base salary of $255,450. Her full compensation package totalled $301,121. Her position was eliminated last November through a restructuring and she was given 18 months working notice and seconded to the ministry of health.

John Johnston, vice president people and clinical services had a base salary of $249,776. With other payments, his package totalled $290,629.

Susan Brown's base was $247,716 with her compensation total coming to $293,607.

Chris Mazurkewich was hired on Oct. 26 to replace Halfpenny. His base was $118,228 and with other payments, his package totalled $147,190.

The IHA represents an area of almost 215,000 square kilometres with a population of more than 725,000.

The nine-member board governs the authority, a job that involves full governance and oversight and a lot of time commitment. The rates are set by the province's treasury board and were last adjusted in 2010.

Malzer was paid $34,875 during the fiscal year for attending all 14 board meetings, all 19 committee meetings and another 39 meetings.

That amount is composed of a $15,000 retainer and chair fees, $19,375 for meeting fees and $500 for travel fees. Meeting fees are $250 for those under four hours, doubling to $500 for longer meetings, to a daily maximum of $500.

Ken Burrows, a director and chair of the quality committee, received $20,375, composed of the basic director fee of $7,500, another $3,000 for being a committee chair and $9,875 for meeting fees. He missed only one of the 14 board meetings, attended all of his committee meetings and another 14 other committee meetings.

All other directors received the basic $7,500 retainer for board meetings and varying meeting and travel fees. Only three -- Debra Cannon ($14,656), Diane Jules ($14,125) and Tammy Tugnum ($14,969)-- were not committee chairs.

Those chairing committees included Patricia Dooley, who oversaw the governance committee from April 2015 to July 2015, becoming chair when the committee was restructured to be governance and human resources. Combined with meeting and travel fees, her compensation totalled $21,656.

Kamloops' Frank Quinn also chaired the governance committee from April 2015 to July 2015 but was not appointed a chair after that. His package totalled $13,625.

Dennis Rounsville was chair of the audit and finance committee and received in total $22,000.

Renee Wasyluk chaired the strategic priorities committee and received $16,688.

© Kamloops This Week


KTW Daily News Alerts

Question of the Week POLL

Would you be opposed if a cannabis production facility was set up near your home?

or  view results

Popular Kamloops This Week

Events Calendar