Collins, Wallace to receive Freedom of the City awards in Kamloops

The awards to be given to longtime broadcaster Doug Collins and venerable politician Pat Wallace will be the first handed out since 2013

A longtime broadcaster and veteran civic politician will be recipients next month of the Freedom of the City Award.

Doug Collins and Pat Wallace will receive the award, which recognizes significant contribution to the city, on April 10.

article continues below

The Freedom of the City Award is handed out awarded infrequently — most recently in 2013 — and only with the unanimous support of mayor and council. Since 1949, there have been 25 individuals and six entities recognized.

The award is symbolically known as the Key to the City and gives recipients certain privileges, such as free parking and special invitations to all civic functions.

Collins is a legendary broadcaster, having been with CFJC-TV in Kamloops for nearly 50 years. He started there in 1970 and became news director in 1971. While he recently retired from full-time management duties, he still spends his days at the station.

Later in his career, Collins became well known for his daily editorial, One Man’s Opinion.

 Professionally, Collins was recognized with two awards: the Radio Television Digital News Association Lifetime Achievement Award and the BC Association of Broadcasters Broadcaster of the Year Award, both in 2008. 

Collins’ extensive community involvement encompasses service, sports and politics. Since the 1970s, he has been a Freemason and Shriner. In 2015, he served as Grand Master of Freemasons in BC and Yukon.

 Over the years, he has lent his passion for sports as a coach in numerous sports and had a stint as president of the Kamloops Minor Baseball Association. In 1975, he was named City of Kamloops Sportsperson of the Year. In the political realm, Collins served on the Mayor’s Task Force on Housing and on the Kamloops Arts Council. 

Wallace is a longtime civil servant, with a career spanning many decades of serving in a variety of capacities at the local, regional, provincial and national levels.

Wallace served as a Kamloops councillor for 31 years before retiring in 2018.

 On the regional front, she served on the executive of the Union of BC Municipalities for eight years (from 1995 to 2003), including as president in her last year.

 Wallace also made her mark regionally with the Thompson-Nicola Regional District. From 1983 to 1986, she was the board chair and was notably the TNRD’s first (and only) female to fill that role.

She also served as a TNRD director for 25 years, from 1993 to 2018. In the federal arena, Wallace served as vice-chair of the Green Municipal Fund of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities.

Aside from her political affiliations, Wallace has been heavily involved in the community as a blood donor clinic chair, AIDS Society director, founding member of the 886 (Overlander) Wing Air Force Association of Canada, United Way Committee chair and board member of the Royal Inland Hospital board and the TNRD Library board.

 In 2002, Wallace received the Queen’s Jubilee Medal.

“It is truly an honour to be able to recognize such worthy and notable recipients of this prestigious designatio,” Mayor Ken Christian said.

“I speak on behalf of our appreciative council and a grateful community.”

 Recipients and their invited guests will be acknowledged at a ceremony on April 10 that will also recognize the annual Exemplary Service Award recipients.


• April 24, 2013 - Ambo Dhaliwal

• April 21, 2010 - Ronald Maguire

• November 10, 2009 - 886 (Overlander) Wing AFAC (represented by current President)

• April, 2008 - Cliff Branchflower

• December 20, 1994 - Albert J. (Jack) E. Chilton

• May 31, 1994 - Kathleen Lila Dyer

• July 1, 1993 - 419 Tactical Fighter (Training) Squadron (Moose Squadron), Canadian Forces Base, Cold Lake (represented by current Commanding Officer)

• February 27, 1990 - Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada Unit 290, Kamloops, B.C. (represented by current President)

• February 27, 1990 - John D. (Jack) Gregson

• April 4, 1989 - James Johnstone Clark

• April 4, 1989 - Angela Rose Marra

• October 4, 1988 - Elsie Gertrude Garlick

• October 4, 1988 - The Reverend Canon Nelson H. Atkinson

• March 29, 1988 - John Raymond Fuoco

• March 3, 1987 - Meryl Beatrice Matthews

• November 18, 1986 - Royal Canadian Legion, Branch No. 52 (represented by current President)

• May 15, 1984 - Canadian Forces Station, Mount Lolo (Closed 1989)

• November 10, 1981 - Dr. James Frederick Bernard Beesley

• February 19, 1980 - Rocky Mountain Rangers (represented by current Commanding Officer)

• January 3, 1978 - John Albert McGowan

• January 18, 1977 - Gordon Arthur Bregoliss

• February 4, 1975 - Anthony John (Tony) Romano

• April, 1973 - Frederick Roy Chapman (appointed by the Town of Valleyview)

• March 7, 1972 - Peter Wing

• July 2, 1969 - The Honourable Sydney John Smith

• July 2, 1969 - The Honourable Edmund Davie Fulton

• January 8, 1968 - Charles Anderson, J.P.

• January 8, 1962 - John Edward Fitzwater

• December 6, 1951 - James Reginald Colley

• September 14, 1950 - George Richmond Williams

• November 29, 1949 - William James Moffatt

© Kamloops This Week



Question of the Week POLL

The NHL season begins on Jan. 13, with teams in an all-Canadian division playng each other. Which team will finish first?

or  view results

Popular Kamloops This Week

Events Calendar

Help Us Help Kamloops. Support Local Media.

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, Kamloops This Week is now soliciting donations from readers. This program is designed to support our local journalism in a time where our advertisers are unable to due to their own economic constraints. Kamloops This Week has always been a free product and will continue to be free. This is a means for those who can afford to support local media to help ensure those who can’t afford to can get access to trusted local information. You can make a one-time or a monthly donation of any amount and cancel at any time .

NEW: For every donation of $25 or greater, we will offer a digital advertising package to the local non-profit group of your choice.

Click on for more information or to make your donation.

Thank you in advance for your support.