Kamloops Chamber of Commerce issues call for Business Excellence Awards nominations

The chamber has also unveiled the executive and board for 2019-2020

The call for nominations for the 33rd Business Excellence Awards has gone out — and the annual event has a new premier sponsor.

The Kamloops Chamber of Commerce has welcomed MNP LLP Accounting, Consulting and Tax as premier sponsor, succeeding TD, which had been premier sponsor in past years.

article continues below

“We are excited to partner with the Kamloops Chamber of Commerce as the title sponsor of the 2019 Business Excellence Awards, an event that pays tribute to the businesses that strengthen the Kamloops economy,” said James Foucault, partner with MNP Kamloops.

“Recognizing businesses and their leaders for their success is an important initiative to encourage and inspire businesses to continue their commitment to our local business community.”

Nominations are being accepted until April 15 in the following categories:

• Community Futures - Business of the Year

• Excel Personnel - Business Person of the Year

• Thompson Rivers University School of Business and Economics – Young Entrepreneur of the Year

• Venture Kamloops - Small Business of the Year

• Business Excellence Awards – Employer of the Year

• City of Kamloops - Community Service Award

• BDC - Manufacturer Award

• BCLC - Technology Innovator Award

• Domtar - Resource Industry Award

• Business Excellence Awards – Tourism and Hospitality Award

• Aberdeen Mall - Retailer Award (1-10 staff)

• Valley First Insurance - Retailer Award (11+ staff)

• Business Excellence Awards - Service Provider Award (1-10 staff)

• Business Excellence Awards - Service Provider Award (11+ staff)

• Rocky Mountaineer – Environmental Stewardship Award

• Fit Financial - Development of the Year

• Business Excellence Awards – Not-for-Profit of the Year

• Open Door Group - Inclusive Workplace of the Year

The general award criteria is a follows:

• Only one nomination is required and membership with the Chamber of Commerce is not necessary.

• Any for-profit, non-government-owned business or individual may be nominated for any award category.

• Not-for-profit organizations (excluding governments) may be nominated for the Environmental Stewardship Award, Development of the Year, Technology Innovator and Not-for-Profit of the Year.

• Businesses must have a valid business license where required.

• Nominee must have been in business for a minimum of three years.

• Organizations, businesses or individuals may not nominate themselves for any award.

• Award winners may not be nominated in the same category for three years following their win but can be nominated and win in other categories.

• Current Kamloops Chamber of Commerce board of directors may not be nominated.

• Within the city of Kamloops and 60 km of the boundaries of the city of Kamloops and are not currently serviced by another Chamber which has an awards program.

Chamber president Joshua Knaak said only one nomination is required and nominees need not be a chamber member to win.

Nominations will close on April 15, with finalists to be announced on June 27, the same day gala tickets go on sale. The awards will be handed out at the Oct. 26 gala.

Media sponsors include Kamloops This Week, Kamloops Matters, Broadcast Centre and Lee’s Music, with supporting sponsors being Wayside Printing and Fresh Inc.

For more information, go online to kamloopschamber.ca.

The new chamber executive and board

Meanwhile, the chamber has a new board following its annual general meeting on March 14.

The 2019-2020 executive includes president Joshua Knaak (FIT Financial), first vice-president Vivek Sharma (Independent), second vice-president Tyson Andrykew (Sandman Signature Hotel), treasurer Donna Gibson (BDO Canada LLP) and secretary Bryce Herman (Advance Hospitality Consulting Services).

The 2019-2020 board of directors are Daniel Carroll (Fulton & Company LLP), Dennis Clare (Domtar), Donna Gibson (BDO Canada LLP), Alicia Glaicar (Mair Jensen Blair), Mike Henry (Thompson Rivers University), Cindy Piva (Thrive Business Strategies), Colin O’Leary (O’Leary and Associates Ltd.), Tim Shoults (Kamloops This Week ) and Kate Stebbings (Trans Mountain Expansion Project).

The Kamloops chamber’s B.C. Chamber of Commerce representative is Aleece Laird of Amplify Consulting Inc.

© Kamloops This Week


KTW Daily News Alerts

Question of the Week POLL

Who is to blame for the shooting down of Ukrainian International Airlines Flight 752, in which 176 people were killed, including 57 Canadians?

or  view results

Popular Kamloops This Week

Events Calendar