Wilson re-elected as Neskonlith chief

Neskonlith voters went to the polls on Jan. 24

The votes have been counted after the Neskonlith Indian Band’s Jan. 24 leadership election and Chief Judy Wilson will be keeping her seat for another term.

Wilson netted 77 votes. She was followed by Joyce Manuel with 38 votes and Bert Deneault with 31 votes.

article continues below

Along with re-electing Wilson, Neskonlith voters chose a five-member council.

Louis Thomas was acclaimed to one of the band council seats as it is guaranteed to a resident of the Switsemalph 3 reserve and he ran unopposed. Cora Anthony, Brad (Saul) Arnouse, Joan Hooper and Fay (Saul) Ginther will be joining Thomas on council.

Anthony led the polls with 107 votes, Arnouse received 97 votes, Hooper garnered 81 votes and Ginther’s total was 79 votes.

Hooper, Ginther and Thomas served on council during the previous term.

The Neskonlith Indian Band is in and around Chase, 45 minutes east of Kamloops.

© Kamloops This Week


KTW Daily News Alerts

Question of the Week POLL

Where have you shopped or where will you shop for back to school supplies?

or  view results

Popular Kamloops This Week

Events Calendar